Intro: Talk about either how practice in an art form is necessary for improvement or about how it is needed to hone a skill. All I have done this semester is practice and attempt to perfect my technique and form, so I should probably talk about that. Thesis: The way I have glazed my projects this year has enhanced certain aspects of the projects.
    1. What my projects are:
        *Hand and wheel bowl with flowers on the outside, wheel altered vase with shadow green glaze, and set of         three which is a small bowl, lidded bowl, and bowl with handles.
    2. How I made them:
        *Each of these projects were made on the wheel in approximately one day. Some elements of projects had
        to be made after the project was footed. Each of the projects sat overnight and then were footed the next
        day. Waited about two to three days until they were bone dry and then put into bisque for two days. After
        that, they were rinsed off with water and either left to dry for a day or put into oven and then glazed in the
        same day. A majority of the projects took more than one day to glaze because the staining process was time
        consuming.
3. Ties into theme:
    *The glazes on each of these projects enhances certain features that I was trying to highlight or makes a
       simple form more interesting. Hand and wheel project shows the texture of the flowers and ties in the color
       on the inside of the project. Wheel altered project highlights the lip of the project and creates the illusion of
        movement. Set of three all have simple forms and are tied together by the glazes that they have.

Conclusion: Worked on my glazing because my technique still isn't really up to par. It takes years of practice to improve this skill. Hopefully I will be able to grow and develop as a ceramicist and artistically.




Leave a Reply.